Hotel Photos
Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos
  • Hotel Summary

    Summary Page

  • Rooms & Prices

    Rooms From £60.00

    Book Online Now

  • Special Offers

    View Our current Special Offers

  • Customer Reviews

    View Our Customer Reviews

  • Local Attractions

    Local Attractions near Us

Welcome to Monties Bed & Breakfast

Address: Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3BX

Telephone: 015394 42723 015394 42723

Hotel Description

Monties Bed and Breakfast is situated in the heart of the popular villageof Bowness-on-Windermere and is less than a five minute walk from Lake Windermere and Bowness Bay. Our guesthouse is also just around the corner from the award winning and famous World of Beatrix Potter attraction. At Monties we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation for couples and families, together with a fantastic breakfast. Our aim is to provide you with a relaxed and enjoyable stay. We have five double rooms and two spacious family rooms, one en-suite.

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Parking Facilities
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi Available
  • Vegetarian Food Available

Rooms & Online Bookings - Monties Bed & Breakfast

Special Offers - Monties Bed & Breakfast

Hotel Reviews - Monties Bed & Breakfast

Brilliant Stay!!
Fantastic location,superb breakfast and really friendly staff,loved it!!!!!!!!

sunil dussoye - 11th Nov, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank yo so very much for such a lovely review and we hope you come back and stay with us again very soon.

Great Stay
Great little place almost overlooking albert pub most central place there is in bowness nice rooms very clean& comfortable beds! Breakfast is a must served by lovely pleasant staff host michelle is lovely always finds time to speak.well done guys keep it up!

bernadette cunliffe - 9th Oct, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much Bernadette for such a lovely review and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Deborah

Short Stay
Good location for visit to Lake Windermere and only 1.5miles from railway station. Excellent breakfast. Had a few problems in room and found the TV to high to watch in comfort.

John Stutchfield - 7th Jun, 2017
Verified Review

Happy Holidays
Good food and ideal location

john robinson - 29th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Bowness Bay
Staff were really helpful,our room was clean comfortable and the breakfast menu was extensive and plentiful. Monties is conveniently located and though parking can be a problem, we would stay there again.

Alan Stevens - 13th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Alan for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and hope to return to stay with us again.

Room 7
had lovely room 7, was in great location the only thing that let it down was the parking. breakfast was beautiful

Mr. gary arrowsmith - 4th Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed staying in our popular Room 7 (Superior Double). We do advise all customers on booking and prior to arrival that due to our central location parking is limited and offered on a first come, first served basis. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Fantastic Location
Room slightly dated but so clean - fantastic staff and location

Food is lovely, very large portions.



Very friendly

audrey macdonald - 3rd Apr, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Great Service
Very friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent price.

Sorin Simion - 30th Mar, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
thank you for your review.

Great Stay
Great location,great room and great service

Mandy Shires - 5th Jan, 2017
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again.

Comfortable Stay
Lovely comfortable bed breakfast good perfect location

Janice Jackson - 31st Dec, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review and glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Many Thanks.
As always very pleasant staff, breakfast A1, accommodation very satisfactory. Always made welcome, will be back.

Mr. Stephen Champion - 28th Nov, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
thank you for taking the time to leave a review, much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Excellent B And B
Good value for money B and B, internal decor a little dated but very clean with very comfortable bed Breakfast was also very good and the staff very pleasant and helpful, all in all an excellent B and B will definitely return.

Mr. Robert Simm - 23rd Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
Nice comfy bed and the room was clean, staff were polite and the location was great with everything on the doorstep.

Melanie Phillips - 23rd Sep, 2016
Verified Review

10 Out Of 10
Great room, good breakfast, reasonably priced and happy staff.

Geoff Wiles - 21st Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Great Stay
Stayed here fri&sat is lovely place staff are excellent comfy bed best location you couldn\'t get any closer to all ammeneties & the breakfast is fantastic.well done michelle & thanks to christian also.

Bernadette Cunliffe - 12th Sep, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your review and we will be sure and pass on comments to our team

Very Nice
Sorry we had to dash off before breakfast. However, really enjoyed our stay. Well presented clean room. Very comforttable bed. A little attention to detail needed..no light shades on ceiling lights!! Great location for shops cafes restaurants lake and àll attractions. Would definately stay again. Down side..main road so unavoidable noise. Might be an idea to have room fans as it was very hot so needed the windows open a room fan would help

Margaret Fagan - 19th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Nice Spot
In the heart of it all,

Good room

Very clean

Nice staff

Comfy bed

Ok bathroom

Marie-Josee Shurey - 4th Aug, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay and glad to see you enjoyed it.

Good Position To Town
My sister in law and i stayed for 3 nights.The location was really good, however our room was on the road side and was noisy all night, we didnt sleep much for 3 nights. Room size was good, missing a mirror. Staff are incredibly helpful and nice and breakfast was the best we had had on our travels.

Sally Williams - 31st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your feedback and sorry yo read your sleep was disturbed during your stay. Due to our central location, it can be busy and noisey during peak periods. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts!

Excellent Friendly And Cosy B&b
Stayed the 28/7&29/7 for a short break. Been to the lakes numerous times but first (and definitely won\'t be the last) time at Monties.

Lovely room, gorgeous breakfast, (both had a full English) fantastic location,

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Thank you for helping us a great break.

Mark Habib - 31st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Mark and delighted Monties were able to help you enjoy your short break in the lakes. Please do come back and stay again soon.

Good Value
We had a wonderful 3 night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely and polite and served an excellent breakfast. This was an excellent location b & b. We were lucky to park around the back bonus 👍.

Would recommend and will return in the future.

Julie Smith - 30th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review and glad to read that Monties ticked all the boxes during your visit to the lakes. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Our Day In Windermere
Great place 2 mins walk down the hill from the Lake very clean and comfortable room

Breakfast was very good too all staff friendly and helpful

We\'ll be back

Stephen Roberts - 21st Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
What a lovely review of your stay with us and delighted you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Good Location, Some Issues Though :(
The location of this accommodation was perfect however we did have a few issues (sorry). We were in room 5 which was very dated in comparison to the pics advertised online and the pressure on the shower was not very good at all - it was difficult to use. We also asked for some clean towels on the Saturday however as the staff were busy - our request was forgotten.



That said - the food was fabulous and staff very friendly. Just some feedback really as if you are unaware of issues it is impossible to rectify them.



Thanks again :)

Linda Vella - 19th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. we have noted your comments regarding the shower. With regard to towels, guests staying 1/2 nights do not receive towel change.

Lovely Hotel
a bit noisy from the steert, but the hotel is comfortable.

HUIMIN PAN - 19th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review. Yes, as advertised we are centrally located in the village which can be busy with traffic and tourists at peak times. However, it does afford our guests easy walking distance to lake, attractions, restaurants and shops.

Nice But Overpriced
A nice little B and B but it\'s way overpriced. Our toilet was very noisy when you flushed it. Great location though and staff where very helpful and friendly.

Natalie Hibbert - 11th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is unfortunate you did not make us aware of your noisey toilet during your stay, when we could have tended to it. We will be sure and pass on your comments to our staff. With regard to pricing, we are very competitive for the area, offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation at from £40 per person inclusive of breakfast.

Excellent Bed & Breakfast
Had an excellent long weekend staying at Monties Guesthouse in the superior room. Everything was perfect for our needs and any issues were sorted very quickly.

Excellent location for walks and right in the centre of Bowness so very handy for going out for dinner and lunch. The cafe that served breakfast was great and the food was delicious! The staff were also very polite and friendly. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Bowness-on-Windermere.

Mr. Euan Birse - 11th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so very much for your very kind and glowing review - high praise indeed! Thank you from all the Monties team and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Perfect Peter Rabbit Visit
I stayed at Monties with my 6 year old daughter for a mother daughter weekend. This was a great location for easy access to Beatrix Potter Experience, kid friendly restaurants, shopping, and the lake. Breakfast was very good and rooms were clean.

Jennifer Harman-Fetcho - 11th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your lovely review and glad your daughter enjoyed her visit to The World of Beatrix Potter around the corner.

Mixed
Positive- staff very pleasant and helpful, central, check in v easy,nice breakfast

Negative- we stayed in room 4 which was pictured once & is more complimentary than the room itself. Clearly not had the same refurb as the rooms in other pics. Lots of small things not so good - water collected behind the loo,shower height adjuster broken, damage to wall under windows,tv small and above the wardrobe etc

William Penson - 7th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding staff and breakfast. thank you also for bringing the other items to our attention, however we would have preferred the opportunity to rectify these during your stay.

Hard For The Taxi Driver
Monties was a pleasant stay but was on a corner where it was difficult for the taxi to pick us off and drop us off. If you are a mature traveler beware of the stairs! A room on the lower stairs is best. On the plus side it is very central.

Janet Graney - 6th Jul, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your helpful feedback for the benefit of future guests and we do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

So Clean And Comfy.
Great location in the heart of Bowness. Lovely clean room with a comfortable bed. The building has character and the breakfast was perfect.

Have already recommended Monties to friends.

David Kershaw - 7th Jun, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for your lovely review and your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cozy And Sweet Place In York
Close to city centre and train station.

The room was so cozy that I feel really comfortable.

Breakfast was really awesome~!

Thank you ^-^

Jun Youp Lee - 29th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for your review and glad you found Monties so comfortable.

Great Value For Money
great position

great double room clean and comfortable

great breaky

great staff

Tina Gundlach - 19th May, 2016
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Good Breakfast Good Staff
Very nice room staff very nice and nothing any problem would stay here again

Lesley Twiss - 2nd Nov, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and we are glad we will have the chance to welcome you back again Lesley.

Overnight Stay
Great location, good breakfast and decent enough accommodation. If you only there for one or two nights and want a central location offering basic accommodation to get your head down then this place is ideal.

Paul Kirkland - 26th Oct, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your review Paul and glad you enjoyed your short break at Monties. We hope to welcome you back to the Lakes again soon!

Pleasant
The room was nice, but having a separate bathroom was a little in convenient at times. Breakfast was lovely. Only faults no ventilation in the bathroom, nothing to tell us who to contact in an emergency, and the road outside took some getting used to. All in all it felt like we were minding a friends house as there was no on on site all the time.

Philip Mallalieu - 1st Sep, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
hank you for the review. You were aware at time of booking with third party website the room had a separate \"private\" bathroom and again when we confirmed your reservation, along with contact details in case of emergency you are provided with the owners mobile number. there are staff on duty in the café until 6pm each day and staff that also live on-site. the bathroom window does open but it would appear it may require some attention.

Birthday Celebrations
We stayed for the weekend at Monties and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I\'m glad we didn\'t listen to the negative reviews. The accommodation was lovely and the kids didn\'t want to leave. The room was very clean, fresh towels each day and the breakfast was brilliant with lots to choose from. The staff were friendly and not overbearing. Happy to leave you to enjoy your stay but very helpful when needed. Would definitely recommend Monties to others and will be going back again.

Ms. Emma Moran - 24th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much for your honest and positive review. We are delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable break with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Brilliant Location
Very friendly and polite staff.Had a great stay and will definitely be back again.Suggest room has two chairs and a table.

Frank Quinn - 17th Aug, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

A Father And His Son
cosy and friendly place

JAN RAPACKI - 16th May, 2015
Verified Review

Very Late Booking !
On arrival at bowness we checked in at our first choice of b and b to be extremely disappointed this is where Mounties came in .at such short notice we booked 3 double rooms and were throughly delighted .this small guest house on the high street is ideally placed and was a pleasure to stay at .our party of 3 couples were in bowness to celebrate a friends birthday it could have been ruined but Mounties made the stay. The rooms were beautiful, comfy, warm and CLEAN! The breakfast was lovely .we can\'t thank you enough. We will definitely be back

Jenifer Watson - 11th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you Jennifer for your lovely review and we were so glad to be able to assist in accommodating you and your friends following your disappointment at the other guesthouse. We always aim to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation at Monties and we are happy to read that not only did we meet your requirements but that you are looking to revisit. We look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Excellent
Great location ,nice rooms and breakfast

Paul Knox - 5th May, 2015
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Glad you had such a nice break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Monties again soon. Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Write a Review!

Attractions - Monties Bed & Breakfast

World of Beatrix Potter - Bowness-on-Windermere - Landmark

World of Beatrix Potter - Bowness-on-Windermere - Landmark

Distance 0.07 miles (0.1 km)
The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction can be found in Windermere. The attraction as won a number of awards and is One of the Top Ten most Popular Visitor Centres and the centre is a place for all the family young and old. Within the centre you will discover Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddle Duck and all their friends in a magical indoor recreation of Beatrix Potter classic tales, with the sights, sounds and also the smells of the countryside. You will be able to see Mrs. Tiggy-winkle in the Kitchen, go past Jeremy Fisher's Pond and even walk through Squirrel Nutkin's Old Oak Tree? Also at the centre you will be able to learn more about Beatrix Potter's life in the Hidden Beatrix Potter's presentation and video wall. Take a break in the Tailor of Gloucester Tea Rooms and then a visit to shop where you can browse and purchase top quality Beatrix Potter merchandise.

Windermere Steamboats Museum - Windermere - Museum

Windermere Steamboats Museum - Windermere - Museum

Distance 0.5 miles (0.8 km)
Windermere Steamboats & Museum is located on a former sand wharf site where, for many years, barges unloaded gravel dredged from the bed of the lake. When this operation ceased in 1975, the Windermere Nautical Trust acquired the use of the site and the Museum was built in 1976-77 with the help of The Maritime Trust and the English Tourist Board. For a great day out visit the Windermere Steamboats & Museum situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Windermere. This Windermere attraction offers a unique and historic collection of Steam and Motor Boats. Steam Launch Trips, Shop and Refreshments. The Museum is open 10am to 5pm daily from mid-March to the first week in November

Stott Park Bobbin Mill - Newby Bridge - Museum

Stott Park Bobbin Mill - Newby Bridge - Museum

Distance 5.83 miles (9.33 km)
A working mill built in 1835, Stott Park created the wooden bobbins vital to the spinning and weaving industries of Lancashire. Typical of mills across Cumbria, today you can see industry from a bygone age and watch as bobbins are made using the mill's original machinery. Although Stott Park worked continuously until 1971, it remains almost identical to its Victorian appearance of 100 years ago. With its Victorian machinery originally powered by a waterwheel and steam engine, Stott Park used birch, ash and sycamore to make wooden tool handles as well as bobbins. The mass of belts which fill the building still drive the cutting, boring and finishing machines than turn long thin poles into bobbins. You can watch a bobbin being made, and take it home as a souvenir.